Weeks 11-12: Love Without Hypocrisy

Rarely are commands from God’s Word so simple: Love sincerely (NIV). Love genuinely (ESV). Don’t just pretend to love others (NLT). Easily said. Not so easily done.

Though these weeks weren’t posted on here (Sorry!), God laid Romans 12:9 on my heart each day (“Let love be without hypocrisy” [NASB]). Situation after situation came up where I was forced to choose whether to speak the truth in love, to lie to cover up an embarrassment or fault, to stay quiet when I wanted to speak, or to love those who I’d rather have a pass on loving. The Holy Spirit kept prompting me: Erin, love without hypocrisy.

People hate hypocrites. The truth is though, that we’re all hypocritical at times. We each exaggerate (or minimize) circumstances, say something to deflect blame or garner praise, etc. It takes lots of INTENTIONAL practice – with the help and grace of the Holy Spirit – to be truthful and loving not just in action but in motive. It’s often easier to appear genuine than it is to actually be genuine. That’s why Paul had to remind us about it. If affairs and murder are judged by the intention of the heart, why wouldn’t love be?

This is more narrative than the other posts, but this one hit home in a different way. I try to be very conscious of what I say to or about people, but it’s easy to get caught up in the moment or to let others rattle on about someone else without defending the “person of topic.” I had a moment like this a few weeks ago, and I spent an entire day concerned that perhaps those comments had been heard by that person or someone else. I retraced the conversation and repented, and I reasoned that what I contributed “could be explained and wasn’t that bad.” True. It could be explained, and I didn’t mean anything maliciously, but God convicted me by placing this question on my heart: What if everything we ever said about people was written down and handed to them? Would God and I be embarrassed or honored by my words if confronted? How much would I need to explain “using context”? If I need to explain it, should it even be said? And if it is, in fact, a truth, shouldn’t I be discussing it with the person himself or herself?

Not to be too tangential, but God does use third parties, and sometimes we must talk through a conversation with another before we actually have it. Often, however, it’s just more “convenient” to talk about someone rather than to them. We are uncomfortable with genuine love; sincere love; love without pretense. Yet, God calls us to go well beyond what’s comfortable, and He calls us to love like He does:  inconveniently; unconditionally; sacrificially; truthfully. We never get a pass on loving.

I want to offer some questions prompted to me the last couple of weeks during this arduous and rewarding journey of loving without hypocrisy. Dig in and love well.

Questions & Suggestions to Consider

1. How often do I self-check my motives toward others and toward situations?
2. Pray that God will reveal your motives to you and change what needs to be changed.
3. Are there specific areas or people where or with whom I struggle being truthful?
4. Am I more likely to engage in gossip or to silently allow it? How can I fix this?
5. What if everything I ever said about someone was written down and handed to them? (See follow-up questions above in the text.)
6. How does God love me?
7. Which facets of love are most challenging to me: speaking truth in love; balancing truth and grace; loving the “unloveable”; unforgiveness; other?

Praying you have the strength, grace, and courage to press on and become more like the One whose set and met the standard. I love you.

One thought on “Weeks 11-12: Love Without Hypocrisy

  1. AMAZING post @Virtus Invicta, filled with so much truth and transparency.

    As I heard the words “Love without hypocrisy” repeatedly through my ears over the past couple of weeks the one thing that seemed to follow was, “this separates My love from the love of man.” The love of man is usually conditional, with stipulations, with expectations, expressed with caution., etc. That is not the love of God, which is without hypocrisy, unconditional, without stipulations, etc. (1 Corinthians 13)

    In some situations, I have to take a step back and really ask myself what is my motive for…. The motive will usually become crystal clear.

    Over the past couple of weeks I can think of a few situations in which the Lord is using to gender love in me. If we yield to the disciplining hand of God, He will help us. One in particular, that unfortunately is recurring involves someone that frustrates me often. However, every time a non-Godly thought (easiest way to put it) comes up, God simply says “Love without hypocrisy”. It is much easier to love someone that loves you, but just loving someone that loves you is not the love of God. We have to love those who we don’t know how they feel about us, or maybe that make us mad??? One day, while semi-angry about this same situation, I just asked God a rhetorical question, why do I have to always love someone when they seem to be so disrespectful and not care. The Lord showed me that, His love is not always two-sided. Before we are saved, He loves us (John 3:16 “world”) and even while we are saved we can lose focus, sin, or whatever…yet, God still loves us unconditionally. We can never mistake the consequences of our sin as God’s lack of love for us. He doesn’t like our sin, but loves us despite our sin. He is always ready to receive us with open arms, because simply God is Love. Majority of the time, the Love of God is one-sided. Even when it is mutuality expressed, it is still lop-sided. HE GAVE US HIMSELF!!! We some commonly take His love for granted, yet He still loves us. Lord open our eyes!

    Yesterday, Christmas day!!… a few situations came up where I really had to check myself. Who are we to ever judge anyone, what heaven or hell do I have to put people in??? I want to love with the love of God, because it is right. How can we lead others to Christ if we don’t express His love? Regardless of what people do/say/etc, I still want to love them.

    I have read a few scriptures over the past two weeks that the same thought, “Love without hypocrisy” came up while reading. Also, just some parallel passages to read on this topic.

    1 John 3&4 (Specifically 1 John 3:18, 1 John 4:11, 1 John 4:20)
    Love your enemy Matthew 5:43-44 Love your enemy

    The scripture that I read again this morning that is staying with me is (2 Peter 1:5-9).

    5 But also for this very reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge, 6 to knowledge self-control, to self-control perseverance, to perseverance godliness, 7 to godliness brotherly kindness, and to brotherly kindness love. 8 For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 For he who lacks these things is shortsighted, even to blindness, and has forgotten that he was cleansed from his old sins.

    We can never think we have arrived while still on earth. We have to remain humble and pray that the Lord shows us situations in which we are loving with hypocrisy, and that He reveals the true motives of our thoughts and statements.

Leave a Reply

