Weeks 7-10: Romans 12:4-8 “One Body, Many Members”

Romans 12:4-8 (NKJV)
For as we have many members in one body, but all the members do not have the same function, so we, being many, are one body in Christ, and individually members of one another. Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching; he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

Romans 12:4-8 (NASB)
For just as we have many members in one body and all the members do not have the same function, so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. Since we have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, each of us is to exercise them accordingly: if prophecy, according to the proportion of his faith; if service, in his serving; or he who teaches, in his teaching; or he who exhorts, in his exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

Romans 12:4-8 (AMP)
For as in one physical body we have many parts (organs, members) and all of these parts do not have the same function or use, so we, numerous as we are, are one body in Christ (the Messiah) and individually we are parts one of another [mutually dependent on one another]. Having gifts (faculties, talents, qualities) that differ according to the grace given us, let us use them: [He whose gift is] prophecy, [let him prophesy] according to the proportion of his faith; [He whose gift is] practical service, let him give himself to serving; he who teaches, to his teaching; He who exhorts (encourages), to his exhortation; he who contributes, let him do it in simplicity and liberality; he who gives aid and superintends, with zeal and singleness of mind; he who does acts of mercy, with genuine cheerfulness and joyful eagerness.

Please use the comments sections to share your thoughts or ask any questions.

Questions to consider when studying this verse:

1) How does this verse relate to any of the previous verses?
2) What are some parallel passages to this verse?
3) Why are these verses important?
4) Reflect on the phrase “do not all have the same function” “each member belongs to all the others,” and “have different gifts.”  Have I accepted these truths, or is there some degree of resistance to the way these truths work out in my life?

One thought on “Weeks 7-10: Romans 12:4-8 “One Body, Many Members”

  1. I’ll be honest. This has been a very tough couple of weeks, and I’ve had more trouble concentrating on these verses than I have the others. I’m experiencing heavy physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual attacks, and I have wanted to quit and/or give up – or at least give in –many times. I feel like I’m at my limit in every way, and the enemy has made “spiritual gifts” seem insignificant in light of “real life” urgencies.

    I’m praying that God will show me very clearly, and that I will choose to believe, that “real life” happens beyond simply the “tyranny of the urgent.” Rather, it is found in submitting to Christ even when we don’t feel like doing it or feel like it matters to Him or that it makes a difference. We can’t see what’s ahead, and really it doesn’t even matter; we know Who’s ahead. And this week I’m struggling to believe His goodness even though I’ve tasted it so often.

    Thank you, LaMarr, for these guiding questions. I really need to meditate on these and His Word to get back in the ballgame and out of the Bad Attitude Locker Room. I know praise and thankfulness will bring me out, but it’s a choice I haven’t made. Please pray that I will CHOOSE humility and grace rather than bitterness, anxiety, and bondage. “In repentance and rest is your salvation; in quietness and trust is your strength.” I’m holding onto this for dear life. We’re not freed to return again to slavery even though it seems sometimes the better, the safer, the more pleasing choice. Repentance, rest, quietness, and trust all go strongly against the natural bent of personality God has given me, so please ask the Father on my behalf to keep leading me to discipline and godliness. I want and expect that peaceful fruit of righteousness to be yielded. Help my unbelief!

Leave a Reply

