Weeks 5-6: Romans 12:3 “Inflated Thinking”

Romans 12:3 > “For through the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself than he ought to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has allotted to each a measure of faith.”

Use the Weekly Notes Google Doc or the comments section to write down some notes and thoughts from studying and living Romans 12:3.

For these weeks, think about the following questions:
1. How does verse 3 relate to verses 1-2?
2. To whom does Paul address this verse? What is significant about that?
3. What are the consequences of “inflated thinking”?
4. How does this human pride interfere with the “gift” or “measure” of faith given to us by God?
5. What is “sober thinking”? (See 1 Peter 1:13, 5:8-9)
a.) Why are Christians called to this standard?
b.) How does this style of thinking relate to verse 2?

Daily Application
1. In what ways (specifically) do I think of myself more highly than I ought?
2. What are some realities about myself that I may not notice (or choose to overlook)? Who can I ask to help me see things I cannot?
3. How can I do better at making an “honest estimate” of myself?
4. How can I learn to value myself based on the faith God has given me? What Scriptural truths align with this reality?
5. Is my “inflated thinking” causing any dissension among my fellow believers? non-believers? What will I do to correct this?

5 thoughts on “Weeks 5-6: Romans 12:3 “Inflated Thinking”

  1. Wow, y’all. I’ve been going through and praying about/answering just questions and 1 and 2. Talk about convicting…! I’m praying the Lord will remove the blinders from our eyes to see areas where we need 2 Cor. 3:18 transformation. Also, through a Chip Ingram sermon, the Lord reminded me about the importance of intense intercessory prayer and fasting. In my prayers this morning, I got this word: “Some things can only be done (or undone) through prayer and fasting.”

    May God show us mercy and favor today and in these weeks as He gently reminds us that it is HIS gift of faith and not our “inflated thinking” that moves us forward in His Kingdom. Love y’all so much.

  2. The governing structure within some local churches can create an atmosphere where it’s easy to get caught up in ranking people by their position. There’s an unspoken culture that you have to be in the church so many years to achieve position A, then so many years to position B, etc etc, or that you have to have certain credentials to achieve a position. All these things tempt the human mind to be puffed up as if by their own accomplishments someone was set in a position in the church. God appoints people where He sees fit, first of all. Second, these positions are not a hierarchy, they are a function. Even if a position is ‘over’ a set of people, that does not mean that person is above them, only that they are leading them. The moment we step away from God’s order in the church, we set people up for a fall because we put them on a pedestal that will only fall down eventually.

    • Great thoughts! I really like your observation that “these positions are not a hierarchy, they are a function.” It’s so true, and the irony is that we get puffed up about something that is only ours because of someone else “purchasing” it for us. We didn’t earn it; can’t manufacture it; can’t perfect it. Why should I be proud of that? A true understanding of the “gifts” produces humility, not hubris.

      Studying these is such a treat because once we can see how God “hard-wired” each one of us, we can be comfortable and confident operating in that area. The hard part is realizing that each area – in a sense – is meant to check and balance the others. The entire Body suffers even if one joint is out of place or isn’t functioning properly, and this should cause us to see others find their place and operate in fullness.

  3. Weeks 5-6: The Sunday we started this verse was the Sunday I was asked to speak at a church. The church had a scripture reading and it was Romans 12:1-3, in my lesson I had verses Romans 12:1-2, because I was speaking on God’s purpose for our lives. These two weeks were very interesting to me, because the Lord was using this opportunity to remind me “Don’t think more highly of himself than he ought to think.” This phrase reverberated throughout the next 2 weeks. HUMBLED!

    The battle of pride is a battle I’m sure many overcoming Christians has. We have to remember that our overcoming has nothing to do with us, but rather the victory that Jesus accomplished. God’s grace allows us to inherit the victory of Jesus. We are nothing apart from God, in fact we are not even living without God, but rather existing. We should remember that every good and perfect gift comes from the Lord. (James 1:17) Praise God for His mercy and grace as He delivers us from our inflated thinking.

    Erin and myself throughout the two weeks shared our convicting experiences of the Lord killing our inward man when the inflated thinking tries to manifest itself. But why is this so easy for us to fall into? The very origin of sin itself (Satan), was cast out of heaven because of his pride. We can conclude from The Word that the enemy was a beautiful being, but that beauty went to his head, and he was cast out of Heaven. Also the very temptation he used to entice Adam and Eve involved getting them to examine their position with God. He deceived them into thinking that they were lacking something from God, and that to be equal with God they had to eat of the forbidden fruit.

    In order for us to be successful in God, our high self esteem concerning ourselves has to be broken. God can still use us, but we won’tt be near as effective while thinking of ourselves more highly than we ought to. As I’m writing this Jeremiah 9:23-24 comes to mind.

    23 Thus says the LORD, “Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; 24 but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises loving kindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,” declares the LORD.

    My prayer is that the Lord continues to reveal to us when we are thinking highly of ourselves, we should never look down on anyone. I also pray that God breaks us from our pride. This walk with God is not about us, it is bigger than we can ever imagine. The second we think God “needs” us to do anything we need to repent, we are replaceable. Our sovereign God can use anyone He pleases to accomplish His will. Once again I say, THANK YOU LORD FOR YOUR GRACE AND MERCY.

Leave a Reply

