Weeks 1-2: Romans 12:1 “Living Sacrifices”

Check out the Weekly Schedule for specifics on Weeks 1-2: living as “living sacrifices.”

Use the comment section here to share what you’re learning and living this week.
Some good starting points for sharing are to look for
(a.) what God is teaching you about Himself and His Word,
(b.) what He is teaching you about yourself,
(c.) what He is teaching you about others and how you can live better in community.

Also, how is this truth
(a.) changing the way you see God?
(b.) the way you pray?
(c.) the way you view your daily circumstances?

Here are some of my personal notes for Week 1. Please feel free to use these in your own study. Share on! Praying for you this week.

7 thoughts on “Weeks 1-2: Romans 12:1 “Living Sacrifices”

  1. I feel like I’m learning some things this week! One, God keeps reminding me that sin and sacrifice don’t mix. A sacrifice is meant to be an unblemished offering – the best of the best and one set apart. When I give into temptation or even purposely disobey what I know is good and right, then I’m tarnishing the whole idea of Romans 12:1. God doesn’t wink at sin (Hab. 1:13), and I shouldn’t either. In fact, James tells me to FLEE.

    I’m praying that I am quicker to obey the first time and to stand firm against the “lust of the flesh, lust of the eyes, and the pride of life.” I don’t want to “mingle” with sins (even ones I discard as “not a big deal”). I want to be a sacrifice that is delightful to the One from whom, through whom, and for whom are all things.

  2. Also, I’ve been thinking lots of this verse (Hebrews 13:15), asking that it would be true in my life and the lives of those who follow Him:
    “Through Him then, let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that give thanks to His name.” A sacrifice costs; it costs us something (pride, justification, etc.) to say thank you and to “praise Him anyhow” when we’re sick or tired (or both), or we feel like few things are going as we planned. But we live to sacrifice all for Him, and He is our great reward, “my CHOSEN portion and my cup.” 😀

  3. Romans 12:1 Amplified

    Romans 12:1 (AMP)
    I APPEAL to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to make a decisive dedication of your bodies [presenting all your members and faculties] as a living sacrifice, holy (devoted, consecrated) and well pleasing to God, which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship.

  4. Romans 11- What a blessing has been bestowed on us! We do not deserve to be grafted in to the “tree,” but it is only through the Lord’s grace. I must live a life that is reflective of the wonderful gift of life. Sin is a disregard of this grace.
    Present your bodies as a living sacrifice…holy, acceptable…- Sin is the opposite of this command. I agree, Erin, that we must ‘stand firm against the “lust of the flesh, lust of the eyes, and the pride of life.” ‘
    I am also reminded that this verb is present tense. I fail daily to follow Rom. 12:1, but His mercies are new every morning. I must daily seek to be a living sacrifice with my life, actions, thoughts, and desires.

  5. Every time I think about “reasonable service” I think about that being the very least we can do….the bare minimum. Then I always think of the Safe Auto commercials that talk about “minimum coverage“. It’s the lowest coverage you can have and still drive legally. Being a “Living Sacrifice” is the VERY LEAST we can do. When we think about all that Christ has done for us, this is nothing in comparison.

    We are to present our bodies (members) to God for the fulfilling of His purpose. The way it is phrased means that God will still give us free will to do as we please.

    Living Sacrifice – in the natural sounds like an oxy-moron, but in reality it is profound. To contrast with the “slain animal sacrifices” (a temporary atonement of sins) in the Old Testament, which were prophetic pointing to the Ultimate Sacrifice, Jesus Christ. The Old Testament sacrifices were dead, but Christ who fulfilled the law (Romans 8:3), sacrificed His life, to give us life (John 10:10), and since He gave us “life” we are to live to Him. We do not belong to ourselves we were bought with a price (1 Cor 6:19-20). I also see in this verse that in order to fulfill this suggestion/commandment from Paul you have to be saved, “living sacrifice” implies life, which only comes from God through Christ Jesus (John 10:10 again).

    • I’ve never thought of this in the context of John 10:10. Very interesting! Abundant, living sacrifices. This leads me to think of 1 Peter 2:4-6, where he says we are “living stones being built up…to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.”

      I saw a paper the science teacher printed today that was titled, “What do rocks do when stressed?” Obviously, it was about…real rocks. 🙂 But, it got me thinking that if we’re spiritual stones, then what do we do when we are stressed? Do we split? Break? Or do our “particles” hold fast and stay strong to withstand both gradual erosion and wild storms?

      • That’s good! The gradual erosion makes me think of.

        Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 2 Corinthians 4:16

Leave a Reply

